Re-integrating Reference Material

I began to feel a separation from the content of our work – I was feeling very much inspired by the aesthetic of my research into Japanese Art and didn’t want to allow this to completely take over our concept.

Although worried it may look like two separated projects, I decided to implement the photograph references we had looked at earlier in the project. My collaborator and I also made conversation about the cultural comment we were wanting to make on youth after I shared the two film references I had also been inspired by (Badlands & Dazed and Confused). I had to remind myself about communicating this concept more clearly in my work as I felt my interpretation had begun to divert my attention slightly.

Through using the found photographs I had shared with my collaborator, I felt I could better consider the aims of our project through to an outcome for the Ampersand exhibition.

zine-images-15-e1489243743955.jpeg

I began to make designs for an accompanying collaged zine to my more absrtact contextual ideas to incorporate quotes from the poetry and the photos. I selected appropriate imagery from my collection which I felt fitted nicely alongside the sections of text. In hand-writing the poetry and keeping the full, square crop to the photos, I gave the page designs a more personal diary-like look. I envisioned a new re-contextualised ‘album’ of photos, aiding a connection for the reader to the unknown subjects. The poetry would give a fictional narrative to the series.

I gave further thought into  the printing and binding method to my pages, reflecting upon my ongoing practice, aims for communication and time limit…

I felt that choosing to digitally print my full page spread for zine publication was the best option as it would allow me to more easily design the pages and print them through my practiced use of InDesign. I also wanted to achieve my desired idea of a more intimately special and unique publication and so decided I could make various mock up versions of my zine, screen print onto them through an instinctive collaged method and hand-bind them with a simple japanese stab-bind…

Leave a Reply

