Publication//Print Ideas

PRINT //

Influenced by my research into forms of East Asian Art, I considered a concertina-type folded publication or even a larger scale, free-standing, panelled screen or hanging artwork. I thought about the design, print method and surface and how these could add to and compliment our concept as well as the more logistical and financial side to my possibilities.

planning ideas

PRINT OPTIONS //

Risograph – in single blue colour, up to A3 in size. Texture of my ink drawings would be achieved, but not the quality in the colourful ‘bleeding’ . The method would also be better considered for making artwork of multiple copies (to sell?) and so I won’t choose this.

Digital – for a publication/print. Through this method I could achieve full texture and colour bleeds of ink as well as various options for paper stock and print finish. I could also print as many/few as desired. I do however want to avoid this option in order to pursue my love of hand-made and traditionally tactile/textured forms of print. I feel a digital option may feel too polished and sleek, and less special as it could be easily replicated.

Screenprint – slightly complex in achieving texture and quality of ink bleeds, but achievable through digitally separating the image. More cost effective as a process to make a more limited/solo edition of prints than the similar Risograph method. The tactile process allows it to feel more personal and special. I can also achieve an opportunity to engage in traditional printmaking and make some spontaneous experiments with the imagery and paper/surface I print upon.

Fabric/Sublimation Printing – References my research & inspiration from east asian artwork (often made upon silk) and also compliments my theme. The digital printing would also allow me to print the full texture and colour bleeds I want to achieve. I could be ambitious in the scale of my work and think about new ways of displaying my work within the context of the exhibition space e.g. kakemono/kakejiku hanging artwork and concertina-like paneled screens. I have never printed with this method before and is also a little too expensive for me to experiment with this once: it does not run with my ongoing personal practice aims in traditional printed matter on paper (e.g. as a publication or single image)

Image result for kakejiku
examples of kakejiku
Leave a Reply

