Japanese Book Design // Alternative Considerations of Format // OFFPRINT Inspiration

Could I be more creative in the format of my publication? If I had more time to reproduce my content in a new form, I could perhaps engage in further considered application. Developing upon Japanese Stab-Binding, I could look into other applications such as Orihon (concertina type book). These were not pursued previously due to the fact they felt better applied to a long narrative or story that fit over the full spread of pages.

I could consider taking on a different binding or panelling method, play with the sizing or add more variety to the paper I print upon or include as break pages or inserts.

Japanese Art Paper

Washi Paper

Leave a Reply

