Larger ‘Calligraphic’ Drawing

Encouraged during my second progress tutorial to make more gestural ‘zen-like’ drawings, I made studies upon much larger pieces of paper. This allowed me to create more minimal responses to my found photograph image reference and the results showed an even stronger resemblance to the asian ink wash paintings in my research.

I quite liked the results as drawing in a fluid and looser method often yields interesting and not so strict and ‘precious’ outcomes. I had to make several attempts on capturing the subjects in a way I was happy with however and I also felt the end results, although quite beautiful, didn’t really excite me as much as I’d hoped.

Leave a Reply

