Visiting ‘Joyce of all Trades’

I had rediscovered Joyce’s work after looking back at past NUA degree show catalogues and dropped her a visit at her Norwich based Soul Church studio to have a chat about both my idea for my personal ‘INTO_VERDE’ publication and about the design of our Illustration 2017 graduate catalogue.

I had a really encouraging discussion with her around ‘Design for Publishing’, the course she graduated from a few years back. As a former NUA student, it was really good to hear about what she had been up to since graduating – a particular worry for me!

In terms of our catalogue, she recommended creating a template to follow for us to easily slip-in any information we desired and for it to have a coherency and running aesthetic. We shared a few examples of page design we liked and she helped point out what the designers had done. She gave me a nice reflection on the background to some of her projects and gave me encouragement for the production of my work into the future…

Leave a Reply

